5 Things You Should Know About Illinois Workers’ Comp

Illinois is one of the best places to do business. But there are laws and regulations to be followed. And one is, as an employer, you must safeguard workers as they go about their daily work activities by getting workers’ compensation insurance.

Workers’ compensation is beneficial to employees and employers alike. It compensates employees in the event of work injuries while protecting employers from litigation.

With that said, here are some important things you should know about IL workers comp:

1. All Employers Must Carry Workers Compensation

If you own a business with one or more employees in Illinois, you’re legally obliged to carry workers’ compensation insurance. And it doesn’t matter whether your employees are family members. The only exception is if you’re a sole proprietor, which means you’re both the business owner and the employee.

However, you can still get insurance to safeguard yourself and your business against injuries.

2. An Employee’s Injuries Must Be from a Known Cause

That’s right, Illinois worker’s compensation doesn’t cover illnesses and injuries whose cause is unknown. So, to file a claim, the direct or indirect cause must be known and, consequently, indicated.

That said, workers comp in Illinois covers the majority of illnesses and injuries resulting from your day-to-day line of work, regardless of who caused it. This includes everything from slip and fall to repetitive stress injuries. As for benefits, the employee gets compensated for medical expenses, ongoing rehabilitation, lost wages, temporary or permanent disability, and even pain and suffering. In case of death, their family is awarded death benefits.

3. Failing to Get Coverage Can Lead to Hefty Fines

Workers comp in Illinois is mandatory. That means if you fail to get your employees’ coverage willfully, you set yourself up for dire consequences. This may range from $500 for each day you don’t comply, with a minimum of $10,000 in total fines, to getting served with a work-stop order until you provide evidence of coverage. And this is just the legal consequences. If an employee is injured, it’s a whole new ball game.

4. Corporate Officers Can Be Charged Personally

If you’re a corporate officer in an Illinois company, you might want to take workers’ compensation very seriously. That’s because you may actually bear the burden of non-compliance personally. And with the charges ranging from criminal misdemeanor to felony for negligently failing to get coverage, it might appear on your record.

5. Uninsured Workers Can Sue Their Employers in Court

If you don’t get workers’ compensation for your business, it’s not just the government you have to worry about. An injured employee can take the matter to civil court and claim damages. Depending on the extent of injuries and, consequently, the compensation claim, this may actually severely impact your business.

Get IL workers comp to Protect Your Business Financially and Legally

As you can see, there’s no way around workers’ compensation in Illinois. And so, if you’re an employer without coverage, you’re sitting on a ticking time bomb. Get insurance coverage to protect your business and have peace of mind.